Our offices are currently closed.
We’ll get back to you as soon as possible.



      Massive Attack - Heligoland

      Wishlist Repress Trip Hop

      Remember what we said? You decide what’s cool and what’s cooler. And some of you have been working on that pretty seriously: the number of projects on our wishlist has been on the rise for the past few weeks and that’s thanks to you! The Diggers community is gradually growing, and we keep an eye on all the new entries you submit daily - needless to say, we’ve spotted some very interesting stuff in there. Let’s take a look at that. By voting for the rare oldies you want to see repressed, you’re the ones who decide what’s cool and what’s cooler. Welcome to the wishlist.

      Ok, we’re dealing with one of our personal favourites to be honest: formed in Bristol in the late 80’s from the ashes of The Wild Bunch, Massive Attack pioneered and helped define what is commonly known as trip hop. The collective led by Robert “3D” Del Naja and Grant “Daddy G" Marshall released its first album Blue Lines in 1991 before shifting towards a deeper and more textured feel with the critically acclaimed Mezzanine in 1998. Their latest studio album, Heligoland, was released in 2010.

      Yep, that’s the one. Although the band released new material earlier this year, fans are still waiting for a new full-length album supposedly scheduled for this year. It’s been almost seven years since the release of Heligoland, yet the record stays as fresh as it was when it first came out. As a perfect balance between Blue Lines’ warm atmosphere and 100th Window’s layered textures, Heligoland feels much more organic than its two predecessors.

      How could it be anything but a genuine musical performance with so many people involved in its production? From guitar playing by Portishead’s Adrian Utley to keys and synths performed by none other than this century’s musical genius Damon Albarn, the record features as many guests as you can think of - plus, as usual on any Massive Attack record, an impressive array of singers. And that’s what makes Heligoland a profound record: driven by its eclectic cast of singers, the album swings between the sweet, touching singing of Mazzy Star’s Hope Sandoval on “Paradise Circus” - probably one of the best songs Massive Attack ever released - and the distinctive vocals of reggae veteran Horace Andy on hypnotic tracks such as “Girl I Love You” and “Splitting the Atom”.

      Heligoland may not be an essential record in Massive Attack’s catalogue, but its authenticity and variety in genres will definitely arouse your curiosity. For those of you who’re already familiar with the record, you may not know that it got a very limited release on vinyl - only a few thousand copies pressed. Yes, you guessed right: Heligoland needs a vinyl reissue, and it all starts with you. Vote for the album on our wishlist, and make it happen. We’re counting on you!

      Comments 0

        • #ITALODISCO
        • #BOOGIE
        • #INTERVIEW

        Rendez-vous avec LEONxLEON

        Découvrez les sonorités italodisco et boogie de l'artiste parisien LEONxLEON.
        • #OPENAIR
        • #DJ SET
        • #HOUSE
        • #TECHNO

        Fête de la musique: Open Air

        Diggers Factory remet le couvert pour la troisième année consécutive et convie l...
        • #PROJECT
        • #SYNTH-POP
        • #INTERVIEW

        MEET KANZI

        Kanzi is an English synth-pop band composed of Pete Myson, Dan Mould, Ed Myson a...
        • #INA
        • #JAZZ

        Collection 33 Tours avec l'INA

        L’Institut national de l’audiovisuel (INA) s’associe à Diggers Factory pour lanc...
        • #PARTNERSHIP
        • #MUSIC

        Get 100 copies pressed with Diggers Factory x ReverbNation

        Diggers Factory and ReverbNation share a common goal: supporting independent lab...
        • #PROJECT
        • #ELECTRONICA
        • #INTERVIEW


        The Japanese producer Masaaki Yoshida aka Anchorsong released his second LP ‘Cer...
        • #Wishlist
        • #Repress
        • #Trip Hop

        Massive Attack - Heligoland

        Massive Attack’s latest full-length is out-of-print. All we’re asking for is a m...
        • #dig
        • #gift

        Introducing "Dig" points

        Because community is the core of our platform, we choose to reward Diggers contr...
        • #Wishlist
        • #Repress
        • #Music

        King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard - 12 Bar Bruise

        Welcome to Australia, where everything can - and will - kill you. Except for the...
        • #Interview
        • #digging
        • #

        Star Wax : The Art of Digging

        Star Wax is a French Dj lifestyle magazine. To sum up briefly what they are doin...
        • #Project
        • #IDM
        • #Interview

        Meet The Flashbulb

        Coming from Chicago, Benn Jordan alias The Flashbulb is a multitalented musician...
        • #News

        A new way to dig vinyl records

        Dear friends, We have been tremendously happy to expand your record collection ...