EVOLVE - UZUL

Tracklist

Side A
1.
Octopus
UZUL
01:40
2.
Aquatic (preview)
UZUL
04:43
3.
Nemo
UZUL
04:41
4.
Water for life (preview)
UZUL
05:18
5.
Allo
UZUL
04:26
Side B
1.
Sea Horse
UZUL
04:58
2.
Ultra abyssal
UZUL
04:12
3.
Music is a game (preview)
UZUL
05:17
4.
Subtil
UZUL
04:36
5.
Diving
UZUL
03:18

Informations


  • Artist : UZUL
  • Label : JARRING EFFECTS
  • Format : 1 x 12" (140g)
  • PaysFrance
  • GenresBass MusicDubTechno

Description

#EcologicVinyl #fsc #bassmusic #dub #techno #uzul #JarringEffects

Cette année, Uzul sort son premier album solo Evolve, aux accents techno et bass music sur le label Jarring Effects. Un disque écologique* haut en couleurs qui abolit les frontières entre les esthétiques musicales.

Au début des années 1995, après avoir été chanteur dans les groupes Kaly Reggae Dub et High Tone, il est l’un des membres fondateurs du mythique groupe lyonnais Kaly Live Dub, au sein duquel il est affecté au sampler et aux effets. Après un premier side-project en 2007, Uzul démultiplie les sorties en solo sur bon nombre de labels européens. En parallèle, il fonde le duo breakbeat Hybrid Sound System. Ce compositeur hors norme à la musicalité sans faille crée également la formation hip hop noise Uzul Prod. Puis, plus récemment 4GetMeNot, projet à l’esthétique techno et UK bass. En 2014, il s’associe à un autre maestro, Molécule, et forme le duo Granit pour un EP 4 titres.

Ce touche à tout, curieux à la créativité intarissable est, depuis ses débuts, un précurseur en terme de technique. En 1998 déjà, il fait partie des premiers musiciens à utiliser un Atari 1040ST ainsi que Cubase. A l’époque, il achète son premier sampler, l’associe à ce séquenceur et crée un live machines, une prouesse pour l’époque ! La capacité mémoire étant ultra limitée, il crée tout en temps réel, ce qui lui confère une manière de jouer beaucoup plus vivante.

La technique mais pas que. Uzul est également un pionnier en terme d’esthétiques musicales. Il succombe à l’attraction du dubstep dès que ce dernier commence à s’exporter des banlieues londoniennes. Très vite, il s’impose en solo comme l’un des rares performeurs live de la scène dubstep et se fait remarquer par la crème des producteurs d’outre-manche avec qui il partage régulièrement l’affiche. En 2009, le prodige Skream le gratifie d’un remix pour « Under Pressure », saluant ainsi un artiste hyperactif unique en son genre.

Ce savoir-faire et cette longueur d’avance, on la retrouve dans sa musique comme dans ses lives. Aujourd’hui il propose un live composé sur Ableton Live qu’il combine à de l’analogique. Le résultat est époustouflant, aucun de ses lives ne se ressemblent puisqu’il créé en temps réel.

Avec plus de 11 maxi au compteur, l’envie d’un album solo a germé dans l’esprit d’Uzul . Le résultat ? Onze titres surprenants qui cassent les codes et qui retracent l’évolution de sa musique, de sa vie et de ses influences. Avec Evolve, il nous offre un disque résolument bass music et techno dans lequel sont distillés ses multiples influences, du dub au dubstep en passant par la UK bass, la tech-house ou encore le trip hop.

*Uzul inaugure une collection de vinyle écologique ! Il s'agit d'un disque composé de granulés à base de calcium-zinc, pochette et étiquettes imprimées sur carton et papier FSC, encre vegan. Les presses sont alimentées par de l'énergie verte (gaz & solaire) produite par des fournisseurs locaux. Les expéditions se font dans des emballages durables avec des transporteurs neutres en carbone.

Jarring Effects is a French musical label based in Lyon, south-east of France. Jarring Effects encourages musicians to be independent, produce the music themselves, be creative and to make music they enjoy rather than trying to make it commercially viable. It was created on an associative basis and remains an association.

UZUL - EVOLVE

Tracklist

Side A
1.
Octopus
UZUL
01:40
2.
Aquatic (preview)
UZUL
04:43
3.
Nemo
UZUL
04:41
4.
Water for life (preview)
UZUL
05:18
5.
Allo
UZUL
04:26
Side B
1.
Sea Horse
UZUL
04:58
2.
Ultra abyssal
UZUL
04:12
3.
Music is a game (preview)
UZUL
05:17
4.
Subtil
UZUL
04:36
5.
Diving
UZUL
03:18

Information


  • Artist : UZUL
  • Label : JARRING EFFECTS
  • Format : 1 x 12" (140g)
  • CountryFrance
  • GenresBass MusicDubTechno

Description

#EcofirendlyVinyl #fsc #bassmusic #dub #techno #uzul #JarringEffects

This year, Uzul is releasing his first solo album Evolve, with techno and bass music accents our Jarring Effects label. A colorful and eco-friendly* record that abolishes the boundaries between musical aesthetics.

In the early 1995s, after being a singer in the Kaly Reggae Dub and High Tone groups, he was one of the founding members of the legendary Lyon group Kaly Live Dub, where he was assigned to sampler and effects. After a first side-project in 2007, Uzul is stepping up solo releases on a number of European labels. At the same time, he founded the breakbeat duo Hybrid Sound System. This exceptional composer with flawless musicality also creates the noise hip hop group Uzul Prod. Then, more recently 4GetMeNot, a project with a techno and UK bass aesthetic. In 2014, he joined forces with another maestro, Molécule, and formed the duo Granit for a 4 track EP.

This all-rounder with inexhaustible creativity, has been a precursor in terms of technique since its inception. Already in 1998, he was one of the first musicians to use an Atari 1040ST as well as Cubase. At the time, he bought his first sampler, associated it with this sequencer and created a live machines, a feat for the time! The memory capacity being ultra limited, it creates everything in real time, which gives it a much more lively way of playing.

The technique but not only. Uzul is also a pioneer in terms of musical aesthetics. He succumbs to the attraction of dubstep as soon as it begins to export from the London suburbs. Very quickly, he established himself as one of the rare live performers in the dubstep scene and was noticed by the cream of the overseas producers with whom he regularly shared the bill. In 2009, the prodigy Skream gave him a remix for Under Pressure, thus saluting a unique hyperactive artist.

This know-how and this head start can be found in his music as well as in his lives. Today he offers a live composed on Ableton Live which he combines with analog. The result is breathtaking, none of his lives are alike since he creates in real time.

With over 11 records on the clock, the desire for a solo album sprouted in the mind of Uzul. The result ? Eleven surprising tracks that break the codes and retrace the evolution of his music, his life and his influences. With Evolve, he offers us a resolutely bass music and techno record in which his multiple influences are distilled, from dub to dubstep, including UK bass, tech-house or even trip hop.

*Uzul inaugurates an eco-friendly vinyl collection! It is a disc composed of calcium-zinc based granules, sleeve and labels printed on cardboard and FSC paper, vegan ink. The presses are powered by green energy produced by local suppliers. Shipments are made in sustainable packaging with carbon neutral carriers.

Jarring Effects is a French musical label based in Lyon, south-east of France. Jarring Effects encourages musicians to be independent, produce the music themselves, be creative and to make music they enjoy rather than trying to make it commercially viable. It was created on an associative basis and remains an association.