Vinyl records of the week 07.10.19

Vinyl records of the week 07.10.19

July 10, 2019

Focus on the funk/soul projects this week with Malka Family, Maylay Sparks & Koolade, Arema Arega, Osunlade and Kolinga!

Malka Family - Funkiffeur

Malka Family Funkiffeur LP

After the album Le Retour Du Kif, here is an EP of remixes and reworks by Laroye (Qwestlife / GlitterBox / Midnight Riot), Young Pulse (Gamm Records / Funky French League / Mochimen), as well as by members of Malka Family themselves (Jay Murphy, Woody Braun and Dany'O)

The new single Funkiffeur, with its special rework "club" and other versions full of surprises, will be accompanied by a clip allowing you to work your roller disco choreography in Paris, Los Angeles or Tunis.

Malka On The Beach, the band's flagship and classic song, is remixed by Laroye in a perfect style for dancing this summer on the tropical or Mediterranean beaches, sipping a ginger-based daïquiri and other ingredients from your choice.

More than 40 min of Funk and Disco for you vinyl record players!

Maylay Sparks & Koolade - You & Your's "The EP & Instrumentals"

Maylay Sparks & Koolade EP

The Maylay Tracks taken from the groundbreaking album !! The famous and best known Croatian hip-hop producer’s debut album – a master piece called “Koolade Beats Rocky”!

The whole idea of this album is in its title, as the inspiration came from the cult movie “Rocky” and the music made by legendary Bill Conti. Koolade played with parts of the soundtrack mixing in the dialogs from the movie and guest features strictly from Philadelphia (where the movie “Rocky” was based) such as Maylay Sparks, Rasheeda B and a former Jay-Z’s associate Peedi Crakk. This You & Your’s EP contains 5 vocal & instrumentals with parts of conversations from the movie. Koolade’s production credits include Masta Ace's "Beautiful" on the album A Long Hot Summer, as well as a number of other prominent American hip-hop artists such as Ghostface Killah and Masta Killa of the Wu Tang Clan, Sean Price (R.I.P.), Xzibit, Sadat X, Styles P, Diamond D, Das EFX, Peedi Crakk, Tony Touch, Rah Digga, Too Short.

Arema Arega - The Red Soundtracks

Arema Arega The Red Soundtrack LP

"The Red Soundtracks is my way of making my own movie. Cinema noir, suspense, the exoticism of the latin rhythms, stories of the city that came into my life as songs, melodies, lyrics and noises, all those beautiful and sometimes imperceptible, noises that are the soul of my album.

The dreamy world within my film with it's characters laughing, crying, witnessing their surroundings in the silence of their thoughts, walking through their life in solitude or accompanied with their phantoms, people living their everyday dreams and challenges. This Album is my way of looking out from within.

Many Thanks for taking the time to listen and share this dream."

Arema Arega

Various Artists - Osunlade presents racially charged

Osunlade racially charged LP

Osunlade presents Racially Charged featuring philly's own scholar and speaker of our time, Rich Medina and newcomer Aturah, a poet and writer hailing from St Louis. Here we bring into focus the reality of the racial tensions and affects of todays world especially that of the USA. Two stories are the setting for this release but not out of the norm in what we see and experience as people of color. Rich offers "The Sickness" featuring backing vocals by Osunlade & piano by Yoruba Soul's Jesse Gannon. Along with a rare b side instrumental. Aturah's "They Say" tells the true story of Danye Jones, yet another sad story of police brutality experienced amongst black men in America. Including a remix from Yoruba newcomer and 1/2 of po-lar-i-ty, Burlie Mac This ones not for the faint at heart but we are challenging and making no excuses for our rage! This project produced by Osunlade and mastered by Atjazz promises truth and a message warranted and some foot stompin all at once. We hope you enjoy and support this release!

Kolinga - Earthquake Deluxe Edition

Kolinga Earthquake Deluxe Edition LP

We invite you to discover and take part in the universe of Kolinga through the release of this deluxe version of Earthquake album, which includes the track Kongo feat. Gaël Faye and many other bonuses. A particularly worked Deluxe version on 180g vinyl, with selective varnish, printed inner sleeve and download code included.